Director of Mental Health Reform appointed to National Taskforce on Youth Mental Health

Mental Health Reform, the national coalition for mental health, warmly welcomes the establishment of the National Taskforce on Youth Mental Health and the appointment of its Director Dr Shari McDaid to the Group.

Commenting on the development Dr McDaid who is also the Chair of the Children’s Mental Health Coalition (CHMC), said: “the establishment of the National Taskforce on Youth Mental Health is a very welcome initiative and one which we hope will make a real difference to the lives of our young people and their families who are struggling with mental health difficulties.”

“Through our work with the Children’s Mental Health Coalition we have seen at first hand the challenges facing children and young people who need mental health support in Ireland today. These include timely access to services and a lack of coordination between the many services throughout the country that work with children and young people. I look forward to working with Minister McEntee and the other members of the Taskforce in an effort to improve the mental health and wellbeing of our next generation.”


About the Children’s Mental Health Coalition

The Children’s Mental Health Coalition (CMHC) consists of more than 70 members, including representatives from 53 organisations and a number of individual legal experts, practitioners, academics and researchers from a range of backgrounds and sectors, including children’s rights,   human rights, education and mental health services. Membership of the group is open to organisations and individuals interested in the mental health needs of children and young people. Mental Health Reform is the current chair of the Children’s Mental Health Coalition.

The CMHC’s vision is that Ireland should be one of the best places in the world to be a child, where every child’s right to mental health is realised.

About Mental Health Reform

Mental Health Reform is the national coalition promoting improved mental health services and the social inclusion of people with mental health difficulties. The coalition currently has 54 members. See for more details. Mental Health Reform acknowledges the support of the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government’s Scheme to Support National Organisations 2014-2016.


For more information please contact:

June Shannon,

Communications and Campaigns Officer,

Mental Health Reform,

Coleraine House,

Coleraine Street,

Dublin 7.

Tel: (086) 171 1920 / 01 874 9469.


Join the Mental Health Reform Newsletter

Our newsletters contain updates about the work of Mental Health Reform, our campaigns, our fundraising and our Members.
You can opt out of receiving newsletters at any time by clicking the unsubscribe option in newsletters.
Mental Health Reform will not share your data with any outside agency.